Top Ten Movies

Some of my favorite movies in no particular order:

1. Harry Potter (entire series) – these films are a huge part of my childhood. I began reading the books in fourth grade and then became a fan of the movies. I grew up waiting on new books and movies to come out. The books are phenomenal and the movies are great. Obviously no movie can measure up it’s book, but Harry Potter does an excellent job trying to do so.

http://www.pics-site.com/wp-content/uploads/Harry-Potter-Kids-Then-and-Now-8.jpg

2. Forrest Gump – This movie is definitely one of my favorites. The entire story is brilliant. It’s neat the way Forrest is flashing back to his memories throughout the movie. You get to watch his life then see how everything ended up. I don’t know what else to say, it’s a classic.

3. Mary Poppins – I’ve grown to appreciate this movie as an adult more so than I did as a kid. I love Dick Van Dyke and the character he plays in the movie (Burt). The story line is really fun and ties in both real life characters into a cartoon world.

4. Aladdin – I chose to include Aladdin because it was one of my favorite movies as a kid. I loved all of the Disney princess movies, but this one is one of the best. Now that I’ve grown up, I appreciate it even more because of all the humor you miss as a kid. Robbin Williams does an excellent job, as he usually does.

5. The Notebook – Even though this movie is based on a book, it’s still wonderful. I actually saw the movie before I read the book and was way more emotional during the movie. I think this movie sticks out to me because no matter how many times I watch it, it hits me hard every time. I always have to be prepared to have mascara running down my neck before I commit to watching it. The story makes you want to fall in love and have everything Allie and Noah have together.

6. Taken – This movie made me nervous, especially as a girl, but I thought it was really good. I actually think every girl should watch it just as a reminder of what kind of crazy things can happen, and that no one is invincible. There’s a lot of action and suspense. Not usually my type of movie, but I like it.

7. Slumdog Millionaire – I know some people think this movie got more hype than it was worth, but I thought it was great! I loved that the entire movie was done in flashbacks until the very end. It was one of those movies that you really had to pay attention to understand what was going on. I loved watching it a second time to catch the details I missed the first time around.

8. Tangled – I just saw this movie for the first time this summer. I work at a summer program at an elementary school so I have plenty of opportunities to see kid movies. I loved this one, though. I’ll probably own it on DVD soon enough. The story line was really cute and gave me hope for future generations of kid movies.

9. A Walk to Remember – This movie is along the same lines as The Notebook for me. It’s a wonderful story about two unlikely people falling in love. I really enjoy this movie because I love to see the relationship between Landon and Jamie grow. Watching Landon change into a better person and devote himself to Jamie throughout her sickness melts my heart. Definitely sticks out as a tearjerker.

10. The Blindside- I love this movie, especially because it’s based on a true story. It’s just an overall heartwarming film that makes you appreciate things a lot more. I love Sandra Bullock as an actress, and I really enjoyed her part in this movie. It’s one of those movies that requires a deep breath at the end.

As far as movies I’ve seen this summer, the majority have been kids movies on DVD because of my summer job with an elementary school’s summer program. I’ve watched Tangled, Despicable Me, Mega Mind, Gnomeo and Juliet, along with many others I can’t remember right now. I’ve actually enjoyed all of them and have Red Boxed a couple so my mom could see them.

In the theaters, I’ve only seen Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (part 2) and Bridesmaids. I don’t really like spending the money to go see a movie, so two for the summer is kind of a big deal for me. I enjoyed both of these movies. Bridesmaids was hysterical and I’ll probably end up owning that one. The last Harry Potter was impressive in my book. I only had a few complaints. Those complaints being the lack of emotion in a few scenes and rushing through important parts of the story.

To conclude this ridiculously long blog post, overall, I’ve had a great movie experience this summer!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kaylamcglashan
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 16:02:29

    I think Harry Potter is on everyone’s list. It definitely was on mine. You seem to love children movies, since a lot of them were. I like a lot of old Disney movies and Pixar movies. It seems like all of them are good.

    Reply

  2. tinaspeak
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 17:18:43

    Harry Potter, most def! I also love the Notebook, Tangled, Slumdog Millionaire, Taken and Forrest Gump! Awesome picks! I also like the photos you put in.

    Reply

  3. Yasmine Horton
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 14:47:25

    I think we’re on the same page when it comes to having to pay between 8-10 bucks to watch a movies. Its definitely a big deal for me too!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Comments for TOTW « The World of PRCA
  5. kourtnilee
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 16:12:15

    I saw Bridesmaids too and thought it was amazing! I also love the movie Taken, I saw this movie though and want to go travel and it scared me half to death, hah.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Comments I made this week .. « Kourtni's Blog
  7. khilson
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 18:40:18

    I wrote about my experience with HP too!! And I love the movie Tangled! Its so cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

